Funky Monkey Review and Giveaway {closed}


This post may include amazon links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

I’m very excited to announce that In Katrina’s Kitchen is offering its first product review and giveaway! If you are a regular reader of my blog you will know that I often refer to my son as Four Year Old Foodie. That’s because he loves all things FOOD and he often joins me in the kitchen. I am always on the lookout for healthy, fun snacks for him to enjoy in between meals or when we’re running errands. So when Funky Monkey Snacks Company asked if I would be interested in conducting a review of their freeze-dried simply fruit snacks I was excited to accept. They were generous enough to offer a sampler gift pack (1 of each of their 7 flavors) to one of my readers as well! That’s YOU!!!

Both the one-ounce and 0.42-ounce sizes are available in the following flavors:
Applemon®(Freeze-Dried Apple and Organic Cinnamon)
Bananamon® (Freeze-Dried Organic Banana and Organic Cinnamon)
Carnaval Mix (Freeze-Dried Organic Banana, Pineapple, Apple and Papaya)
JiveALime® (Freeze-Dried Pineapple and Lime Juice)
MangOJ®(Freeze-Dried Mango and Orange Juice)
Pink Pineapple® (Freeze-Dried Pineapple and Guava)
Purple Funk® (Freeze-Dried Organic Banana and Organic Açai)

Funky Monkey Snacks are gluten-free, wheat-free, dairy-free, peanut and tree nut free, and contain no added sugars, colors, flavors or preservatives. They are Non-GMO Project verified, vegan, raw and certified Kosher. Funky Monkey’s freeze-drying method uses less energy than other processes by utilizing thermodynamics and steam from a cashew shell-powered boiler. Further supporting its mission to be environmentally respectful, Funky Monkey only uses organic bananas, pineapples, cinnamon, açai and lime juice, eliminating the use of chemicals.  Also, all fruit waste (peels, cores, etc.) is re-used as fertilizer or animal feed, as opposed to taking up space in a landfill.

Now to the review – My son was so excited to get his hands on these that I literally had to hide the package the first day in order to get some time to snap some pictures for you. The moment I was done shooting them Four Year Old Foodie had his hands on the JiveALime pack while I went for the Pink Pineapple. We opened them up and were both delighted with the taste and texture. Sometimes freeze-dried snacks can have a Styrofoam or powdery feel to them but these were crisp and crunchy and just perfectly delicious! Four Year Old Foodie approves and with three servings of fruit in every ounce this Mom approves too! I have plans to add the Applemon and Bananamon to some rice cereal and granola for a filling and healthy breakfast-on-the-go. Perfect for those mornings we are rushing to get out of the house.

Okay, let’s get down to the specifics of this giveaway. You want these, right? This giveaway will end on April 13 at 9am EST. The winner will be announced and contacted via email so I must have a valid email with each entry. If the winner does not respond by April 15 a new winner will be chosen. The mandatory entry must be completed or extra entries will not count! A winner will be chosen using random.org. You must be a resident of the United States to take place in this giveaway.Update: And the winner is Meggs @ URBakin’MeCrazyy Congratulations! You’ll love the Carnival Mix!

If you didn’t win check out this site to see where Funky Monkey Snacks are sold in your area.

Mandatory entry:

1. Tell me which of the 7 flavors are you most excited for your family to try.

- Katrina

87 Responses to “Funky Monkey Review and Giveaway {closed}”

  1. #
    Lauren — April 6, 2011 at 2:45 am

    We just saw those at the store today and pick some up. I am so happy to read that you were there guinea pig first 😉 . Now I cant wait to try them. Thanks

  2. #
    Georgia | The Comfort of Cooking — April 6, 2011 at 3:37 am

    Great giveaway, Katrina! I would love to try the 7 flavors that you mentioned above. Thanks for hosting this! 🙂

  3. #
    MotherBeck — April 6, 2011 at 3:43 am

    Oooooh I would love to try the MangOJ!!

  4. #
    MotherBeck — April 6, 2011 at 3:43 am

    Liking you on Facebook!

  5. #
    MotherBeck — April 6, 2011 at 3:44 am

    I shared this giveaway on my Wall!

  6. #
    MotherBeck — April 6, 2011 at 3:44 am

    Liking Funky Monkey on Facebook too!

  7. #
    Lauren — April 6, 2011 at 11:18 am

    I really want to try the Carnaval Mix. Sounds yummy!

  8. #
    Mary at n00bcakes — April 6, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I think the Applemon or Bananamon will be at the top of my list; I love fruit + cinnamon!

  9. #
    SuzyEats — April 6, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Most excited about Applemon!

  10. #
    SuzyEats — April 6, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I am following @Katrina’s kitchen on Twitter

  11. #
    SuzyEats — April 6, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I am following @funky monkey snack on Twitter

  12. #
    Fresh and Foodie — April 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Your son is so cute! What a fun giveaway.

  13. #
    Christy — April 6, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    The MangoJ ones sound great!

  14. #
    Christy — April 6, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    I like IKK on FB!

  15. #
    Emily — April 6, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    I would love to try the bananamon!

  16. #
    Emily — April 6, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I like Funky Monkey snacks on FB! Love the name!

  17. #
    Susan — April 6, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    The JiveAlive sounds amazing!

  18. #
    Carolyn — April 6, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    I have such a hard time finding good healthy snacks for my kids sometimes. Count me in for this one!

  19. #
    Montanna @ Slab2626 — April 6, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    I love the Apple and Cinnamon!

    [email protected]

  20. #
    Erin — April 6, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    I would LOVE to try the Pink Pineapple! YUM!!!

  21. #
    Erin — April 6, 2011 at 5:31 pm
  22. #
    Kate — April 6, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Pink Pineapple sounds awesome!
    This is so cool! How exciting for you!
    [email protected]

  23. #
    Kate — April 6, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    I also follow you on FB!

  24. #
    [email protected] — April 6, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    Ok, so you have to pick me because Ana LOVES funky monkey! 😉 I think we’ve tried them all… the pink pineapple sounds like something that we might have overlooked, so we’ll try that one!

  25. #
    [email protected] — April 6, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I “like” you! 🙂

  26. #
    [email protected] — April 6, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I ‘tweet’ with you

  27. #
    Parsley Sage — April 6, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Mango mango mango! My smile would be as big as your boys 🙂

  28. #
    Kimberly — April 6, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Those are SO cool! I’ve never seen or heard of them before, but my son is sitting here now asking if I can get some for him. lol! He thinks the Mango one sounds really good, so I guess we’d pick that one!!

  29. #
    cookingmisadventures — April 6, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Jivealime sounds so fun – and tart! Yum! ~ Courtney

  30. #
    Brandie — April 7, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Your son is adorable!! That bananamon sounds good. I think my little guy loves anything banana. What a fun giveaway 🙂

  31. #
    Happy When Not Hungry — April 7, 2011 at 1:19 am

    The pink pineapple sounds amazing!!

  32. #
    Sandra — April 7, 2011 at 1:26 am

    Wonderful review Katrina..I have to look for those! Thanks for sharing!!!!

  33. #
    Stephanie — April 7, 2011 at 3:31 am

    I would love to try the pink pineapple! These sound awesome, I can’t wait to try them!

  34. #
    Stephanie — April 7, 2011 at 3:33 am

    I follow you on Twitter

  35. #
    Stephanie — April 7, 2011 at 3:33 am

    I like you on Facebook

  36. #
    Elisabeth — April 7, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Such fun giveaway. Love all the flavors, especially the Carnaval mix. I’m already following your blog, and will follow on twitter. I don’t have a facebook acct.
    Your son is so cute, and seems so excited with these treats:D

  37. #
    Elisabeth — April 7, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Katrina-just realized that I’m already following you on twitter, as well!

  38. #
    Pretend Chef — April 7, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    What a great giveaway! I’ve heard of their products before but have never tried them. My toddler would love these. He requests dried apples on occasion. They’d be great for road trips or just for grab and go snacks. I’d be most excited to try Pink Pineapple.

  39. #
    Pretend Chef — April 7, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I LIKE you on Facebook!

  40. #
    Pretend Chef — April 7, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I LIKE Funky Monkey Snacks on Facebook!

  41. #
    Pretend Chef — April 7, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    I shared the link on my Facebook page!

  42. #
    sweetlife — April 7, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    congrats on babble, love funky monkey snacks!!

    sweetlife

  43. #
    kitchenmorph — April 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    i’m in India so i miss running a chance…but hugs to your four year old foodie…i think my second daughter may help me out like this…she’s been showing all signs of a foodie!!

  44. #
    amanda @ fake ginger — April 7, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Pink Pineapple sounds awesome! (your son is adorable!)

  45. #
    amanda @ fake ginger — April 7, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I follow you on Twitter. 🙂

  46. #
    amanda @ fake ginger — April 7, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Just followed Funky Monkey Snacks! 🙂

  47. #
    amanda @ fake ginger — April 7, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    I already like you! 😉

  48. #
    amanda @ fake ginger — April 7, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Just liked Funky Monkey Snacks!

  49. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:50 am

    most excited for the carnival mix…can’t wait to see who the winner is of your first giveaway! keep up your amazing work katrina!

  50. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I follow you on Twitter

  51. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:52 am

    Followed funkey monkey on twitter

  52. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:52 am

    Liked you on Facebook

  53. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:52 am

    Liked funkey monkey on facebook!

  54. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:53 am

    just updated my facebook page 🙂

  55. #
    The Addicted Baker — April 8, 2011 at 5:53 am

    Finally, i just tweeted too!

  56. #
    URBakin'MeCrazyy — April 9, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Carnaval Mix for sure (:
    Meggs
    https://urbakinmecrazyy.blogspot.com/

  57. #
    URBakin'MeCrazyy — April 9, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I follow In Katrina’s Kitchen on FB.
    Meggs
    https://urbakinmecrazyy.blogspot.com/

  58. #
    URBakin'MeCrazyy — April 9, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I like Funky Monkey Snackss on FB
    Meggs
    https://urbakinmecrazyy.blogspot.com/

  59. #
    eclairre — April 10, 2011 at 3:45 am

    · JiveALime® sounds delicious~!

  60. #
    Shannon — April 11, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Pink Pineapple sounds amazing! YUM!
    shannonforpeace(at)gmail.com

  61. #
    Shannon — April 11, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I follow you on twitter @shannonforpeace shannonforpeace(at)gmail.com

  62. #
    Shannon — April 11, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I follow them on twitter @shannonforpeace shannonforpeace(at)gmail.com

  63. #
    Shannon — April 11, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I like you on FB. Shannon Wieneke. shannonforpeace(at)gmail.com

  64. #
    Shannon — April 11, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    I like them on FB. Shannon Wieneke. shannonforpeace(at)gmail.com

  65. #
    Shannon — April 11, 2011 at 6:16 pm
  66. #
    Pam @ From Apples To Zucchini — April 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    We have had the purple funk before, but I know my 4 yo would like the cinnamon one!

  67. #
    Pam @ From Apples To Zucchini — April 11, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I follow you on twitter 🙂

  68. #
    Pam @ From Apples To Zucchini — April 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    I tweeted your link 🙂

  69. #
    Pam @ From Apples To Zucchini — April 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    I like you on FB

  70. #
    danielle — April 12, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    I am really excited to try the applemon

  71. #
    danielle — April 12, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Follow @katrinaskitchen on Twitter. luvmy2ms

  72. #
    danielle — April 12, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    . Follow @FunkyMonkeySnck on Twitter. luvmy2ms

  73. #
    danielle — April 12, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Like In Katrina’s Kitchen on Facebook. danielle mini donohue

  74. #
    danielle — April 12, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    . Like Funky Monkey Snacks on Facebook. danielle mini donohue

  75. #
    Anonymous — April 13, 2011 at 2:43 am

    Tell that Grandson of mine to save me a piece to try because I can’t win! He’s really good at sharing. 🙂

  76. #
    Lola G — April 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    We would love to try the applemon!
    lkgreene05(at)yahoo(dot)com

  77. #
    Lola G — April 13, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I like funky monkey snacks on FB- Lola Kirstin
    lkgreene05(at)yahoo(dot)com

  78. #
    Lola G — April 13, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I like you on FB- Lola Kirstin
    lkgreene05(at)yahoo(dot)com

  79. #
    Lola G — April 13, 2011 at 12:35 pm

    I posted your giveaway on FB- Lola Kirstin
    lkgreene05(at)yahoo(dot)com

  80. #
    Emillie Rose — April 13, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Would love to try the Pink Pineapple.
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com
    I shared on twitter – .
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  81. #
    Emillie Rose — April 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I Follow @katrinaskitchen on Twitter – hisprincess886.
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  82. #
    Emillie Rose — April 13, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    I Follow @FunkyMonkeySnck on Twitter – hisprincess886.
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  83. #
    Emillie Rose — April 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I Like In Katrina’s Kitchen on Facebook – emillie rose.
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  84. #
    Emillie Rose — April 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I Like Funky Monkey Snacks on Facebook – emillie rose.
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

  85. #
    Emillie Rose — April 13, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I shared on twitter – https://twitter.com/#!/HisPrincess886/status/58181460141682689.
    hisprincess886(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Comment